Shop at Dixie’s Store for Unique Gifts for All Ages!
Built in 1918, Dixie’s Store was moved to Chestnut Square in 1994. This building has a soft spot in the hearts of many of McKinney’s former school children. Dixie would give soft drinks or candy to local children who brought a straight “A” report card to her attention. She would also paddle those who acted up in her store…and they had to sign their names on the paddle, a highlight of the tour is this infamous Paddle!
Learn how shopping used to be in the recreates store area – not quite like the way we shop today. the store is also the home of “Doc and Clyde’s” Ice Cream Freezer exhibit – the largest collection of ice cream freezers in the world.
When the Farmers Market is onsite (Temporarily relocated due to construction) Saturdays, 8 am-noon April through November, Dixie’s Store offers cold drinks, air conditioning, candy and a variety of handcrafted items made by our craft guild.
Dixie’s Store Hours
Dixie’s Store is currently undergoing a small remodel and will be open sometime in the near future.